it really seems to me that i am trying to mutate into something quite implausible: a sort of “neo-jew” beyond rabbinical law

Notice I do not say “post-Jew”. That would be too easy. Whatever I do I can be laughed at, first of all by ordinary unimaginative Jewish clods, the ones I know best from London, being the penguins (pinguinim, ultra-orthodox). I could tell quite a few stories about my encounters with the Lubavitchers, though not as good as Eduard Hodos’ stories. I think my own peculiar form of neo-Judaism is connected by the craze among Israeli and Pindosi Jewish non-orthodox kabbalists for Frankism. The text of “Va-avo ha-Yom el ha-Ayin” is still being translated. But the determination is there. There are quite a lot of reasonably affluent and more or less queer Jews who are implicitly lined up behind this Halperin and his enormous insult to the orthodox (hint: start at the bottom, his episodes are posted in reverse order). I also feel that there is a whole kundalini tantra being worked out here, under another name. All this is by way of commentary to the comments I made earlier in the week, here. I absolutely wish I could run down this thing about my mother’s mother, I truly do. If I am right that she was Jewish and ‘passing’ as something else in order to escape from WW1 Vienna, which sounds glamorous and arcane but certainly was not an unusual situation in reality: a large city full of educated and westernized young jewish people, what could be more natural than to escape by marrying out? – RB

8 Comments

  1. L
    Posted April 7, 2016 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

    The ‘neo-jew’ beyond Rabbinical Law, interesting, but one does not
    have to search for some bloodline justification, of a grandma grail certification
    to get beyond the Din or be part of…for-

    ~Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law~

  2. niqnaq
    Posted April 7, 2016 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

    Maybe, if your relations with your genetic affines mean nothing to you. The question implied here is whether there is a psychologically-inclining ‘Jewish gene’. That in a way is what is so interesting about this. Nobody ever suggested to me that I or my mother or my mother’s mother was Jewish. I only ever met my mother’s mother once or twice. She seemed to me at the time almost an Agatha Christie caricature, with a slightly Viennese accent. She claimed to have been a refugee/war bride, but one from the “minor Austrian (ie Christian) aristocracy.” She called herself Von Estorffe. When I looked into this, half a century later, I found that her birth certificate was that of an English country girl of slightly unrespectable origins, from the Isle of Wight, with the unusually foreign-sounding name of Estorffe (no ‘von’). So either:

    1) she really was this country girl from the Isle of Wight,
    2) she really was a member of the minor Austrian aristocracy, or
    3) she was a Viennese Jewish girl marrying her way out.

    You can understand why she threw herself at her rescuer, my mother’s father her husband-to-be, a British army captain presumably stationed there at the time. Then by agreement with him, a condition of becoming his bride, being that ever after she must ‘pass’ as not Jewish, as I said. The advantage of this particular peasant girl was that she had a usefully foreign sounding name, Estorffe. How did they know about this girl? From gossip in the army mess, I’d say. She had been born 20 years before, six months after the forced marriage of her father, a certain Private Emil Estorffe of Fort Victoria, Yarmouth, to her mother, an unwed country girl whom he had made pregnant in the Isle of Wight. So if their daughter was my mother’s mother, then undoubtedly she had a motive to conceal her origins, quite different and much less interesting than my preferred theory.

    Oh yea 93 93/93

  3. L
    Posted April 8, 2016 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    May I say I honor your being, quests and work…..certainly understanding something about who one’s ancestors were can be quite important, and indeed interesting to others
    as it reflects upon what is indeed the realities of life, thus I appreciate your explaining the situation around your grandmother and family.

    If it is a consolation, perhaps the fact that there is obviously a degree to which the case might never be resolved, with an interesting trio of options, thus it is as regards, door number 3, that
    in your researches regarding Judaism and the Jews one could well say that the “Wandering” “gene” might well be at work in you, for in my estimation you have been able to peer inside, but more than that something more interesting indeed is at work , for she, your grandmother, could have been anyone of the three, which speaks to what might be called the ‘Veiled Mysteries”, or less poetically, a universal woman, a woman, any woman naked and fertile, for when love is involved, does one’s background and identity matter…. well lets just say she can be well identified as “Tripura Sundari”, a manifestation of the Triple Goddess, a Shekhinah…..peasant, royal and outcast, all in one or none….

    So may ye so celebrate these “Feast Days” in her living with your pulse too, for

    Love is the law, love under will.

    B Marshall

  4. niqnaq
    Posted April 8, 2016 at 6:54 pm | Permalink

    Judaism is a particularism, an insult to universalism, and that is the rigid pole around which the tent of the supposedly universalist Pindosi world empire is disposed (unless Israel breaks away from the Pindo Jews, which it is trying rather hard to do despite Bibi & Co, who are strictly from Langley). The political psychology of the semi-permeable membrane that separates the Jews from the rest, is a lifetime’s study. It’s a phenomenologist’s paradise, because being Jewish is entirely a state of mind, no doubt; but it is one the organized expression of which is carefully policed by massive vested interests. But the law of the liberal regimes does not allow this policing to enforce itself as it would have done in old Europe. The situation is already sufficiently exacerbated by the fact that non-orthodox Pindo Jews can have Israeli citizenship on demand, but then find they cannot marry there. If you can imagine a further sub-world of neo-Jews who cannot claim Israeli citizenship as such… then a real effervescence which undermines the intermarriage taboos in a deliberate and explicit way by saying you don’t have to be rabbinically Jewish to demand recognition as
    a Jew, you can be JEWISH IN YOUR OWN WAY, which given the realities of human psychology, is bound to be the most subversive thing of all. It’s a logical next step: unlike the outright annihilation of Jewish identity, it points towards a different but after all still Jewish future, inter-marriage under these conditions being premised on something loose and open enough to be actually worth preserving – unlike rabbinical Judaism, which is hamstrung by the halachic definitions of who is a Jew.

  5. niqnaq
    Posted April 8, 2016 at 7:36 pm | Permalink

    There was actually a lodge of the ‘Caliphate’ (Heidrick/Breeze/etc) OTO in Haifa, in the 1990s or 2000s, but sadly, it failed to thrive. They did a translation of Liber AL into Ivrit, which I still have. I can put it up if anybody wants it.

  6. niqnaq
    Posted April 10, 2016 at 12:05 am | Permalink

    L aka B Marshall: Are you an official in the OTO? If so, then you should state your institutional interest. It’s not an entity I respect. I regard it as a fraudulent thing with a bogus philosophy. Over the course of the 1990s, I trudged as far as IV+PI in its peculiar system of ranks. That is as far as one can go without agreeing to become, in effect, an unpaid junior executive for its promotion and expansion of itself. I’ve never described ‘Thelema’ (as Crowley called his syncretic philosophy), as “bogus” before, but by commenting in the way you did, you unintentionally pushed me to it. It seemed to me you were writing as if you had ideological claims to exercise against anyone who might ever have been a subscriber.

  7. L
    Posted April 14, 2016 at 4:29 am | Permalink

    Dear Sir,

    Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.

    I have no ideological claims against anyone.

    I have no idea what you are paranoid about, but obviously it has something to do with your rather in depth involvement with what is I presume the Pindosi Federal Court approved “OTO”, the so called “Caliphate OTO”? Of course one must be very careful when taking oaths, especially to an entity that is a military order. I guess it took a long time for you to finally decide that it was not exactly your cup of tea, that maybe the milk had soured. Too bad it took so long for you to figure things out.

    Be that as it may, I hereby congratulate you for following your conscience, thou wilt, of turning down offers to join some ‘official’ inner sanctum, of resigning, to which I will say: You passed the test! Welcome!

    Welcome as freedom is our dignity manifest through life’s challenges where our choices are made from our own inner moral intuitions, if I might invoke Rudolf Steiner’s important conception vital to the exercise of freedom upon one’s own inner authority. Long ago, back in the eighties, I came across this very short paper, by Rafel T Prinke made this connection and helped me have a greater perspective on Thelema. It helped alot, considering what is indeed rather dangerous Crowley omelette.

    http://blackmoonpublishing.com/archives/assets/rtp-4.pdf

    Now concerning your direct question to me. Well I will defend that “Temple of Orientation” which I consider every man and woman’s right, as stars we are. It is the inner orientation that is important. rather than claims to any particular degree in the outer, or some birthright religion, nation or race. Of course mystery dramas, and skits have their place, and a dream can serve to prepare one, or to shock one, perhaps indeed into recognizing the whole thing is a sham. That I suppose is the unfortunate case with those that make certain claims, backed by court decree, possession of Copyrights and registered trademarks, and don’t for get to pay your dues, but frankly my recognition of those so possessed, might be that I would hope that the “slaves would serve’ by getting some good books back in print, and without changing the letter f to a k.

    Really I was quite fortunate to have come across back in the eighties, through one of the founders, what I still consider a relevant and healthy perspective on the OTO. What then was known as the Chthonic-Auranian OTO, this document speaks for itself and for those who might resonate in kind, in the path of the Great Work.

    http://www.caoto.org/structure.html

    Hopefully you are now at ease.

    I Am

    Love is the law, love under will.

  8. niqnaq
    Posted April 14, 2016 at 4:35 am | Permalink

    wtf b:-)

Leave a Reply

