rowan goes job hunting

For at least ten years I have been listening to Israeli radio, first via short-wave and subsequently via the Internet, and I also have a lot of Israeli LPs. The thing is, if you want to learn Hebrew without wanting to convert to Judaism, it’s rather hard to find teachers. The last one I had tried so hard to treat me as a would-be convert that I ended up sending her a set of emails so sulphurous that they may yet land me up in court. Luckily, I have found a means of learning modern colloquial Hebrew that does not require the goodwill of the local Jewish community – a set of CDs of audio lessons originally made by the US State Dept. for the families of employees posted there, which along with a few decent grammars and dictionaries will do the job. Coincidentally, my government has just determined that despite a mild back injury I should try to earn my own living, so I am trying to appeal to people who might employ me full-time in some capacity that could allow me to pursue English-Hebrew bilinguality, either physically here in London, or generally, via the Web. I have a very high opinion of the value of translation from both the Hebrew press and Hebrew literature. As a non-Jew I am probably quite unusual in wanting to speak modern Hebrew, anyway, simply because I like the language.

5 Comments

  1. Posted March 28, 2008 at 6:53 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for your note on the JPN blog. You may be right that wordpress offers more features; I’m not sure, but I appreciate the tip. Good luck with your Hebrew translation biz. I did a little myself when I lived in Israel in the ’90s. Arduous work indeed, but usually interesting.

  2. niqnaq
    Posted March 28, 2008 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

    thanks! I shall post some music for you. I see you are a Professor of English, so maybe I will be able to get you to act as referee for a Soros grant – I have in mind a study of Jewish Israeli youth culture, using hebrew-language sources. I have no academic qualifications at all, but since the aspect of Israeli youth culture that most attracts me is the punk scene, my lack of qualifications should be an asset to my credibility.

  3. Posted March 28, 2008 at 10:22 pm | Permalink

    Rowan you must also try Norton Mezvinsky. In fact given the two we would definitely recommend Mezvinsky over Finkelstein for this kind of thing. Mezvinsky worked with Israel Shahak whose main thing was translating forbidden Hebrew; Finkelstein is trying to be a respectable gatekeeper and not hang out with people who can later get him into trouble. Mezvinsky’s e-mail is mezvinskyn@ccsu.edu and his bio/cv is here

  4. niqnaq
    Posted March 29, 2008 at 4:24 am | Permalink

    nice thinking, kei and yuri. How nice it would be to meet one day, you two are a treasure.

  5. niqnaq
    Posted April 5, 2008 at 10:01 am | Permalink

    I would appreciate comments on my translation of these lyrics, from Hadag Nachash’s Aize Kif :
    https://niqnaq.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/hadag-nachash-aize-kif/
    and I have made a start on their California, too :

    hadag nachash : california


    and of course any responses to my appeal for sponsors for a soros institute project application, especially from israel, would be welcome :
    https://niqnaq.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/a-referee-reverie/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.